The church was initially built on the top of a Paleochristian church dating back to the 5th-6th century a.C and was later renovated. In 1714 its frescoes were painted by the hagiographers Antonios Nomikos and Nikolaos Chorafas.
On the ceiling of the church we can admire great works of art in western style, among which a painting, copy of the work by Raphael, focused on the theme: “the Procession to the Calvary” is the most outstanding one.

The church also boasts the tomb of the Saint Apostle Gaios, housed in the presbytery of the church itself, where it is told that he slept during his journey. Saint Gaios, disciple of Saint Paul, was one of the eighty wise men who committed themselves to translating the Bible.

Relevant contents